Tell Mama-Complete Muscle Shoals - (Import CD)

Etta James

Write a review

R 155

eB1 550

Discovery Miles  1 550

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Soul
Mono / Stereo
Tell Mama: The Complete Muscle Shoals Sessions [Remaster]

Personnel includes: Etta James (vocals); Albert Lowe, Jr., Jimmy Ray Johnson (guitar); Charles Chalmers, Aaron Varnell, Floyd Newman, James Mitchell (saxophone); Gene "Bowlegs" Miller (trumpet); Dewey Oldham (piano, organ); George Davis, Marvell Davis (piano); Carl Banks, Barry Beckett (organ); David Hood (bass); Roger Dawkins (drums).
Producer: Rick Hall.
Reissue producer: Andy McKaie.
Recorded at Fame Studios, Muscle Shoals, Alabama. Originally released on Cadet (802). Includes liner notes by Lee Hildebrand & Morry Roth.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (Universal Mastering Studios-West, North Hollywood, California.
Personnel: Etta James (vocals); Floyd Newman, Aaron Varnell, Charles Chalmers (saxophone); Gene Miller (trumpet); Dewey Oldham (piano, organ); Marvell Thomas (piano); Carl Banks, Barry Beckett (organ); David Hood (electric bass); Roger Dawkins (drums).
Recording information: 08/02/1967-08/??/1968.
Arranger: Rick Hall.
Having already been an established leading soul singer for 13 years and having 18 R&B hits to her name, in 1967 Etta went to record in Alabama at the legendary Muscle Shoals studio. The result was her most accomplished album, on which her voice had been mixed to perfection, allowing her to sound strong on the previously distorted high notes. James was rightly seen in a different light as one of the great soul voices of all time as she belted out powerful tracks such as "The Love Of My Man" and "Watch Dog." Her slower numbers were equally arresting, including the wonderful "I'd Rather Go Blind."

Country of Origin
Chess (USA)
Universal Distribution
Etta James
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Tell Mama
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] I'd Rather Go Blind
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Watch Dog
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Love of My Man, The
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I'm Gonna Take What He's Got
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Same Rope, The
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Security
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Steal Away
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] My Mother in Law
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Don't Lose Your Good Thing
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] It Hurts Me So Much
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Just a Little Bit
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] You Took It
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] I Worship the Ground You Walk On
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] I Got You Babe
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] You Got It
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] I've Gone Too Far - (previously unreleased)
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Misty - (previously unreleased)
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Almost Persuaded
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] Fire
  22. [ Disc 01 Track 22 ] Do Right Woman, Do Right Man - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  1. Etta James
Studio / Live

Q - 3 Stars - Very Good
Living Blues (7-8/01, pp.73-4) - "...Edgy, brassy and stunningly assertive....these songs have stood the test of time..."

Video Disabled
Rick Hall
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 155

Shop by Department