Tokyo Tapes - (Import CD)


R 159

eB1 590

Discovery Miles  1 590

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Hard Rock
Mono / Stereo
Dieter Dierks
Tokyo Tapes [Hip-O)

Scorpions: Klaus Meine (vocals); Ulrich Roth, Rudolf Schenker (guitar); Francis Buchholz (bass); Herman Rarebell (drums).
Recorded live at Sun Plaza Hall, Tokyo, Japan on April 24 & 27, 1978.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Klaus Meine (vocals); Rudolf Schenker, Ulrich Roth (guitar); Herman Rarebell (drums).
Recording information: Sun-Plaza Hall, Tokyo, Japan (04/24/1978/04/27/1979); Sun-Plaza-Hall, Tokyo, Japan (04/24/1978/04/27/1979).
Arranger: Scorpions.
If you played in a hard rock band during the '70s, what were you likely to be doing circa 1978? Why, recording a live album, of course. Preferably a double vinyl set, and in Japan to boot. The Scorpions were no exception, and in fact, their Tokyo Tapes were captured only days after Cheap Trick's At Budokan in April 1978. Though hardly as inspired or successful, the Tokyo Tapes set still serves as an ideal greatest-hits collection of the Scorpions' first decade. This recording also showcases the spectacular playing (and occasionally, the dreadful singing) of guitarist Uli Jon Roth, who would soon leave the band for a misguided solo career, but displays some jaw-dropping technique here, most notably on the epic "We'll Burn the Sky." The rest of the band also puts in competent performances on such early standards as "In Trance," "Fly to the Rainbow," and "Speedy's Coming." The material on disc one is consistently strong, and though a number of pointless covers ("Houng Dog," "Long Tall Sally") and that most dreaded concert spectacle -- the drum solo -- break the flow on disc two, the band still closes strong with the crowd-pleasing Japanese folk song "Kojo No Tsuki" and frenetic versions of "Dark Lady" and "Robot Man." Ultimately, if you have any curiosity about the Scorpions' early material, Tokyo Tapes provides the perfect introduction. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Country of Origin
Universal Distribution
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] All Night Long
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Pictured Life
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Backstage Queen
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] In Trance
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] We'll Burn the Sky
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Suspender Love
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] In Search of the Peace of Mind
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Fly to the Rainbow
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] He's a Woman, She's a Man
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Speedy's Coming
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Top of the Bill
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Hound Dog
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Long Tall Sally
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Steamrock Fever
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Dark Lady
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Kojo No Tsuki
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Robot Man
  1. Scorpions
Studio / Live
Q (12/01, p.163) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Barracking pop-metal...the bonus of an arena full of Oriental teens, gawping guitarist Rudolph Schenker brutalizing his Flying V and singer Klaus Meine doing the 'beautiful folk song' 'Kojo No Tsuki' in Teutonically-cawed Japanese..."
Video Disabled
Tamotsu Yoshida
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 159

Shop by Department