Ultimate Collection - (Import CD)

David Ruffin

Write a review

R 119

eB1 190

Discovery Miles  1 190

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Funk
Mono / Stereo
The Ultimate Collection

Producers include: Harvey Fuqua, Johnny Bristol, Van McCoy, Berry Gordy, Ivy Jo Hunter.
Compilation producer: Henry Weinger.
Includes liner notes by David Ritz.
Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Kevin Reeves at PolyGram Studios, Edison, New Jersey.
Liner Note Author: David Ritz.
Arrangers: Paul Riser; Van McCoy; Wade Marcus; David Van De Pitte.
For David Ruffin, leaving the Temptations in the early 1970s to pursue a solo career was taking a gamble. Like Eddie Kendricks (who did the same thing), Ruffin was asked whether or not he was sure he wanted to leave such a successful group. But the soul singer had some fine moments as a solo artist, a fact that is illustrated by this CD. Released in 1998, The Ultimate Collection focuses on Ruffin's post-Temptations work in the 1970s. There's a lot to admire in this good- to excellent-anthology, which ranges from his hits "Walk Away from Love" and "My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)," to a pleasing cover of Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes' "I Miss You." The late soul man was a master of dramatic tearjerkers, and the emotional, heart-on-his-sleeve approach serves him quite well on "Pieces of a Man" (not to be confused with the Gil Scott-Heron song), "World of Darkness," and "No Matter Where." If you've never experienced the pleasures of Ruffin's solo years, The Ultimate Collection would be the most appropriate starting point. ~ Alex Henderson

Country of Origin
Studio / Live
David Ruffin
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] I've Lost Everything I've Ever Loved
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Double Cross, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] World of Darkness
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Pieces of a Man
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I'm So Glad I Fell for You
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] I Miss You, Pt. 2
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Common Man
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Little More Trust, A
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] No Matter Where
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Walk Away from Love
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Heavy Love
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Statue of a Fool
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Who I Am
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Everything's Coming Up Love
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] On and Off
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Just Let Me Hold You for a Night
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] You're My Peace of Mind
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Rode by the Place (Where We Used to Stay)
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Let Somebody Love Me - (previously unreleased)
  1. David Ruffin
Universal Distribution
74m 39s
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 119

Shop by Department