Ultimate Collection - (Import CD)


Write a review

R 169

eB1 690

Discovery Miles  1 690

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Chicago Soul
Mono / Stereo

The Dells: Marvin Junior, Johnny Carter, Mickey McGill, Verne Allison, Chuck Barksdale (vocals).
Producers includes: Bob Miller, Charles Stepney, Chuck Barksdale, Don Davis, The Harris Machine.
Compilation producers: Harry Weinger.
Recorded betweem 1968 & 1991. Includes liner notes by H.W.
With a Motown flair, sweet Chicago harmonies, and sparse string arrangements that prefigured the Philly sound, the Dells reached the pop charts in every decade from the 1950s through the 1990s, a feat only equaled by the great James Brown. Originally a doo wop group, the Dells had hits in the 1950s with "Oh What a Night" and "Stay in My Corner," then placed both songs in the charts again with re-recorded versions (the versions that are included here) on the Chess-owned Cadet label at the end of the 1960s. Undisputed masters of the slow jam ballad, the group exploits the oil and water textures of Marvin Junior's gruff, hard soul voice set against the soaring high tenor of Johnny Carter, and the steady emotional tension this brings to songs like "Stay in My Corner" is textbook Chicago soul. This collection pulls together all their biggest hits, including "A Heart Is a House for Love," the theme song for Robert Townsend's film The Five Heartbeats. The inclusion of the latter song gives this release a slight edge over the single-disc On Their Corner compilation from 1992, but the double-disc Anthology (also on Hip-O) from 1999 is still the most comprehensive look at this elegant vocal group. ~ Steve Leggett

Ultimate Collection
Country of Origin
Studio / Live
The Dells
  1. DELLS
  2. The Dells
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Stay in My Corner
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] There Is
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] O-O I Love You
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Always Together
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Oh, What a Night
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I Can Sing A Rainbow / Love Is Blue
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Oh, What a Day
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Open up My Heart
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Love We Had, The (Stays on My Mind)
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Give Your Baby a Standing Ovation
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] My Pretending Days Are Over
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] I Miss You
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Learning to Love You Was Easy
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] We Got to Get Our Thing Together
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Our Love
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Super Woman
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] I Touched a Dream
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Heart Is a House For Love, A
Universal Distribution
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 169

Shop by Department