Uncle Charlie and His Dog Teddy - (Import CD)

Nitty Gritty Dirt

Write a review

R 179

eB1 790

Discovery Miles  1 790

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Country Rock
Mono / Stereo
William E. McEuen
Uncle Charlie & His Dog Teddy [Remaster]

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band: Jimmie Fadden (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, harmonica, washtub bass); Jim Ibbotson (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, accordion, electric piano, drums, congas); Jeff Hanna (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, drums, washboard, percussion); John McEuen (acoustic guitar, banjo, mandolin, accordion).
Additional personnel: Bill Cunningham, Maurice Manseau II, Jim Gordon, Mike Rubini, John London, Byron Berline, Russ Kunkel.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
The first album issued by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band after they had temporarily disbanded in 1969, this greatly expanded their pop audience, due primarily to the Top 10 hit cover of Jerry Jeff Walker's "Mr. Bojangles" (which actually wasn't a hit until early 1971). The group moved into a more accessible rock-oriented fusion of country, bluegrass, pop, and rock & roll, relying primarily on smartly chosen covers of tunes by the likes of Walker, Mike Nesmith, Randy Newman, and Kenny Loggins. Few bands had incorporated instruments more commonly associated with country and bluegrass, particularly mandolin and banjo, as comfortably into a rock setting prior to this release, and their well-crafted harmonies help put the songs over for those not-steeped-in backwoods sounds. It was an extremely diverse program for a country-rock album, too, moving from rustic instrumentals and snippets of tapes of elderly musicians performing rural Americana to the Buddy Holly cover "Rave On." The group were actually at their best, though, when doing softer, melodic pop tunes. "Mr. Bojangles" was a deserved huge success in that regard, but Nesmith's "Some of Shelley's Blues" and Loggins' "House at Pooh Corner" were almost as catchy and appealing. ~ Richie Unterberger

Country of Origin
Capitol/EMI Records
EMI Music Distribution
The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
  1. Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
  2. Nitty Gritty Dirt
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Some of Shelly's Blues
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Prodigal's Return
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Cure, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Travelin' Mood
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Chicken Reel
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Yukon Railroad
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Livin' Without You
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Clinch Mountain Backstep
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Rave On
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Billy in the Low Ground
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Jesse James
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Uncle Charlie Interview
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Mr. Bojangles - (with prologue)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Opus 36
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Santa Rosa
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Propinquity
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Uncle Charlie
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Randy Lynn Rag
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] House at Pooh Corner
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Swanee River
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] Uncle Charlie Interview #2 / The End / Spanish Fandango
  22. [ Disc 01 Track 22 ] Mississippi Rain - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  23. [ Disc 01 Track 23 ] What Goes On - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
Studio / Live
Rolling Stone (10/29/70, p.48) - "...a varied and vital album with both a sense of history and a smiling face....It's an enjoyable record. It might even remind you that Americans could be really enjoyable if they weren't so dangerous..."
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 179

Shop by Department