We Are Born - (Import CD)


R 139

eB1 390

Discovery Miles  1 390

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Dance
Greg Kurstin
We Are Born

Audio Mixers: Greg Kurstin; Dave Trumifio.
Recording information: Bright Street Studios, Los Angeles; Dubway Studios, New York; Hobo Sound, NJ; Kingsize Sound Labs, Los Angeles.
Photographer: Liz Ham.
If Some People Have Real Problems, upon its 2008 release, felt like Sia's "pop move," its warmly personable brew of mellow coffee shop soul offering a more approachable contrast to the sober soundtrack-fodder chill-out with which she -- and in particular, her increasingly ubiquitous, jazzily innocuous voice -- had become near-synonymous, what can we make of We Are Born? With this, her fourth proper album, recorded for yet another new label (pop/hip-hop titan Jive), the Australian singer has made a massive pop leap: a sunshiny, highly caffeinated set of frothy dance tracks and feel-good lite-funk. And it's a great look. It's hard not to smile in agreement when she sings, in the tremendously hooky chorus to the irresistible, disco-fied first single (a revamped Lauren Flax collaboration): "You've changed... for the better!" As Sia tells it, it's less that she's changed than that she's finally made the album she'd been itching to make for years, the catalysts including her increased distance from the evidently dictatorial market forces of downtempo and her recent romantic linkage with DJ JD Sampson (Le Tigre, MEN). Unexpected though the shift may seem, it still feels like an entirely comfortable one, a liberating opportunity to revel in the natural exuberance she's always held in check. It's a treat, then, but hardly a surprise, to hear how well Sia works her ever-expressive pipes in full-on club-diva mode, as on the aforementioned single and the equally delightful "The Fight." She displays impressive vocal versatility throughout, cooing and crowing like vintage Gwen Stefani on the awesomely ska-punky "Bring Night"; drawing on her reserve stock of quavering Winehouse-isms for the blue-eyed R&B of "Be Good to Me"; getting throaty on the decidedly emo piano ballad "I'm in Here," which recalls any number of tortured '90s alt-rock songstresses (ditto her extravagant take on Madonna's "Oh Father.") Much as her vocal flexibility lets Sia navigate a considerable array of pop styles with nary a hitch, her solid songwriting chops find her fully satisfying the conventions of each form she tackles, albeit rarely transcending them. Meanwhile Greg Kurstin, by now a past master of breezy, contemporary, grown-up girl pop production, supplies a likable balance of gloss and glitter, with plenty of fun, playful touches (toy pianos, synthesized orchestra bells, kids voices.) While We Are Born occasionally lapses into the anodyne, overly tasteful pop-folk balladeering of Sia's past, overall it's a charmingly cheery, light-hearted romp looking nowhere but sweetly, sanguinely forward. ~ K. Ross Hoffman

Monkey Puzzle
Studio / Live
  1. Sia
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Fight, The
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Clap Your Hands
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Stop Trying
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] You've Changed
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Be Good to Me
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Bring Night
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Hurting Me Now
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Never Gonna Leave Me
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Cloud
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] I'm in Here
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Co-Dependent, The
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Big Girl Little Girl
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Oh Father
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] I'm in Here [Piano Vocal Version]
RED Distribution

Rolling Stone (p.84) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "'Bring Night' bops like an Eighties rave-up, and Sia finds the sweetness in Madonna's 'Oh Father,' brightening it into an airy, blippy closer."
Spin - "Produced by Lily Allen's mate Greg Kurstin, it's full of up-tempo electro-pop jams that sound like Amy Winehouse covering Toni Basil's 'Mickey.'"
Entertainment Weekly (p.72) - "[With] cut-a-shag-rug funk, finger-snappy soul, and even squiggly disco. It's party music with a heart." -- Grade: B+
Billboard (p.32) - "Her impressive vocal chops are heard over cheery pop-rock guitars on the song 'You've Changed,' and glittery synths lend a touch of electro to 'Cloud.'"
Pitchfork (Website) - "'Stop Trying' has the vocal chants, clap-driven rhythm, and cutesy keyboards of an Alphabeat song, and the chorus -- 'We like you' -- is insistent without being cloying."
Uncut (magazine) (p.120) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[S]tacked with drivetime anthems such as 'Big Girl Little Girl' and 'Bring The Night'."

50m 13s
Greg Kurstin; Dave Trumifio; Pierre De Reeder
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 139

Shop by Department